The Flash

What is the speed force? I am new to the flash just started during crisis.

3 Likes

Oh man, where’s @kingofspeedsters when you need him? I’m also not super well read on the Flash, but the speed force is essentially an ambiguous energy field that speedsters (people with super speed in the DC Universe) tap into to get their powers. It’s pervasive through all of the multiverse and is on the same conceptual level as time or space in the DC Universe. It’s like a force of nature.

2 Likes

If you are interested in looking further into stuff like this, DC Database is a great online resource for finding out more about the DC Universe. Just be careful traversing it if you want to avoid spoilers for specific comics, shows, or movies.

2 Likes

Kinda like the force in a way

3 Likes

Yea, for sure. I think it is a little more tangible in a way than the force as I understand. Like, speedsters travel through the speed force to travel through time and dimensions, and there are characters that have merged with the speed force as well. All you really need to know for any given Flash story though is that it’s where The Flash gets his powers from.

2 Likes

Try the flashpoint paradox if you want to learn about the speed force and how it works.

3 Likes

Have no fear… @kingofspeedsters is here!!!

The speed force is pretty much what @YoYoFroYo explained it as (well done @YoYoFroYo!). But I have a bit more info for you.

First off in the rebirth: the flash they really delve into what the speed force is and what all the other forces are and do as well. There is the strength force, still force, speed force, and sage force ( if you want I can give more info. on them).